top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngelica Velarde

SUMMARY AND SUGGESTIONS

Updated: Feb 20, 2019


When opportunity knocks on your door, always be willing to take a chance, because you never know how perfect something could turn out to be.

Purposes of Practicum

The purposes of this practicum are stated as the objectives of SEA-Teachers Program.

The following statement are the objectives of SEA-Teachers Program.

1. To enable pre-service student teachers to develop the teaching skills and pedagogy

2. To encourage the pre-service student teachers to practice English skills

3. To allow the pre-service student teachers to gain a broader regional and world view

4. To expose future teachers to diverse teaching and learning situations and opportunities, and the value of flexibility.

Also the purposes of practicum are to identify student- teacher areas of strength and areas of needing strengthening. It provides guidance, feedback and opportunities for growth. And also to determine that the student- teacher has met the standards for being globally competitive by expressing their knowledge in different place or countries. It really meets my needs to develop and improved my skills as a future educator.


Procedures of Practicum

At the first week, Universitas Islam Indonesia my receiving university gave us schedule. It was really helpful because I saw what I’m going to do in this program they also orient us about the rules and policies of this program. On the second week, my cooperating school SMA Negeri 1 Cangkringan also orient me about what am I going to do during my practice teaching in their school and I observed my cooperating teacher and also my students. Actual teaching, participating in school activities and final demonstration at the third and fourth weeks. We also have farewell ceremony in SMA Negeri 1 Cangkringan and in Universitas Islam Indonesia.


Outcomes of Practicum

This program has a really productive outcome for the student- teacher like me. Because I learned a lot and I encountered different types of students with a different language. I learn from them and they also learn from me. By the help of this program, the student- teachers developed to be globally competitive and improved communication skills.


The Challenges of Practicum

There is a lot of challenges that I encountered during my practicum in Indonesia.

First is the culture, there is a big difference between the culture in Indonesia and my country Philippines. That’s why I had a hard time during my three days in Indonesia but after a few days I adopted their culture and I had a Muslim friend/buddies that are very kind to us. Second is the food, it was really spicy I can’t even eat it, I love spicy foods but the spiciness of their food are really spicy. And the last is the language, I really had a hard time while teaching my students because they can’t understand and speak English. But I am thankful in my receiving university for giving us BIPA class. I learned a lot of Bahasa Indonesia language because of that.


Overall Impression

Because of this program I am now believed that “Experience is the best teacher”. With this program I learned a lot of things and I developed my teaching pedagogy with the help of this program. This kind of program was really productive because they gave a chance to the student teacher like me to expand the knowledge and develop skills that will contribute for the future success of a student teacher like me. And with this program I learn while having fun, because I experienced to teach other people with the different language, I went to beautiful places in Indonesia, I ate super spicy but delicious foods, I found new friends. Most importantly, even though I had a hard time and mistakes while doing my practicum, I know from that mistakes and challenges that I encountered during this practicum, I learned and improved a lot. No one can take those learning and experienced from me, I will treasure those moments and I will never forget it.


Suggestions for future improvement

I’m so glad that I became a part of this program. Because this program was really a big help for the future educator like me. It enhances teaching skills, improve communication skills and it let the student teacher like me to experience different culture and classroom setting to develop teaching pedagogy. So I was hoping that this program will continue for many years to help many students’ teachers to become globally competitive in teaching profession. I just wanted to suggest to make the project longer because 1 month is not enough for the student teachers to mostly understand the culture of the other country and to really came up with the different teaching strategies.

31 views0 comments
bottom of page