top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngelica Velarde

TEACHING PRACTICE

Teaching is the one profession that creates all other professions.
First class picture with Grade X- MIPA 2

Procedures of my Teaching

The teaching procedure that I used I’m my practicum in SMA Negeri Cangkringan is based on what I have learned in my university. I used detailed lesson plan and I used student-centered approach in my class, because I believe that in these generation, the teacher serves a facilitator and the students are the center of teaching learning process.

First I always greet them “Selamat pagi” or “good morning and in my afternoon class I greet them “Selamat siang”. In my everyday class, I asked them who wants to lead the prayer because I want to feel the presence of God before my discussion. Then I also have an energizer and motivation to them, because I believe that in that way they will be focus on our lesson if I used those teaching strategy. Then before we proceed to our new lesson, I always prepare a review question to them for me to know if they are still remembering our lesson. During the discussion, I also put the Bahasa Indonesia language in my power point and I asked one of my student to read the presentation on the screen. I always asked them if they understand my lesson, they always answered me yes even if is not. But then after that I prepare examples and videos that is related to our topic. It is a way for me to make sure that they really understand our lesson.

Every day I prepare a hands on activity for my students, because I think it is more effective if I used performance based task rather than paper and pencil test. But as I notice the students did not usually prepare to do those things. That’s why I always prepare a reward in order for me to motivate them. I also gave them an evaluation, to measure if they really learn and I asked them some questions before the end of our class.


Time Management and Organizing Activities

My lesson plan helps me to manage my time in classroom because it really serves as a guide for me to easily handle my class. I also put a time limit in every activity that they do. I put the direction in my power point presentation in Bahasa Indonesia language. Before the activity I explain first the instruction/direction and after that they read the Bahasa Indonesia term. So they can easily understand the instruction and clearly know what they going to do.


Problem Solving

The most commonly problem that I encountered, is when the students did not clearly understand my explanation. So on the next day my buddy suggested me that it will be good if I will also put my explanation in my power point presentation in Bahasa Indonesia language. After that I observed it and it is really effective. Sometimes I used the google translation in my class, for me to speak some of their basic language that use in classroom.

5.4 Classroom management

As a student- teacher, I used to manage my class or the classroom in making it conducive for the student learning process. They are comfortable if there is an organize situation during class and there is a rules and policies that they need to follow, to prevent any bad situation and to have a better communication inside the classroom between the students and the teacher.


My Teaching Methodologies

During my practicum in SMA Ngegeri 1 Cangkringan I handled 3 classes, all of them are grade 10. I teach Economics wherein every day I have 2 hours to meet my class.

At first I thought my students can understand English language because I used English as the medium of my instruction. When I teach them I observe that they can’t speak or understand English and that is a quite challenge for me. I did not know what to do that time. After my first class my buddy suggested me to put translated Bahas Indonesia on my power point presentation. I’m happy because when I used that strategies I saw that my students understand my lesson. Also I learned some of the basic Bahasa Indonesia language in BIPA class, so I used it during my practicum. And I used body language when I was explaining my lesson in order for them to understand my lesson. Because as a teacher, I was so happy every time when I’m seeing them that they really learn from me. All of my stress and tiredness are fade away because I know that my effort did not wasted.


Preparing my Lesson Plan


Writing my lesson plan at the school ary of SMA Negeri 1 Cangkringan. Every Monday, Wednesday and Thursday I only have one class, so after my class in the morning I do my lesson plan and after that I gave it to my cooperating teacher to be check.


11 views0 comments
bottom of page